Gateways 2020

Tutorials: Week of October 12
Main Presentations: Week of October 19
Location: From the comfort of your home

Virtual Experience. Real Takeaways.

With your health and safety in mind, we moved Gateways 2020 to an online format. We are re-imagining this community gathering, focusing on what matters most to you—staying on top of the latest opportunities in gateways.

What you’ll get from our program:

Gateways 2020 Proceedings
on OSF Meetings

  • Plenary events featuring experienced gateway creators and savvy scientists from whom you can learn best practices
  • Concurrent sessions that dig into the content with interactive discussions from which you can synthesize new ideas
  • Learning Labs on important topics that emerge during the conference where you may establish new collaborations
  • Choose up to four out of eight tutorials and workshops where you can gain in-depth expertise on specific topics
  • Opportunities to grow your network by meeting people who can make a difference to your gateway

Keeping you healthy, wealthy, and wise...

We want you to have an outstanding—but not exhausting—conference experience. During the week of October 19, we will offer a series of online events, including plenaries, parallel sessions, and Learning Labs—with a schedule friendly to all US time zones and those balancing work and caregiving. We will move tutorials to the week prior to our original dates (October 12–16), following a similar schedule.

If you have a question, email us at help@sciencegateways.org.

About the Conference Series

Hyatt Regency Bethesda at nightThis gathering for gateway creators and enthusiasts features hands-on tutorials, demos, keynotes, presentations, panels, posters, and plenty of opportunities to connect with colleagues. We invite you to join us! Gateway developers and users—regardless of their domain area—have a lot in common but have had few venues for exchanging experiences. The fifth Gateways annual conference is an opportunity for gateway creators and enthusiasts to learn, share, connect, and shape the future of gateways as part of a vibrant community with common interests.

Science gateways allow academic research or education communities to access shared data, software, computing services, instruments, educational materials, and other resources specific to their disciplines. They are typically a web portal or a suite of desktop applications.

The conference at a glance

Here's an overview of the schedule, which includes about 3 hours of content each day, plus breaks. For the graphically inclined, a table of the schedule is below.

Tutorials and Workshops Track: Week of October 12-16

Each day from 

  • Eastern: 1:00pm-4:30pm with a break at 2:30pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm-3:30pm with a break at 1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am-2:30pm with a break at 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am-1:30pm with a break at 11:30pm PT

Main Conference Track: Week of October 19-23

Each day begins with a 1-hour plenary session at

  • Eastern: 1:00pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am PT

Plenaries are followed by a 30-minute break: Use this time for stretching, grabbing a bite to eat, networking, browsing posters, or visiting sponsor “booths” — or all of the above! Note that concurrent session presenters may be setting up in your Zoom room during the break. You can easily carry on your conversation in QiqoChat using one of the many Social Spaces. Pick a “Coffee Table” location and hop into a Zoom meeting right there.

The rest of the day features two more sessions, such as Concurrent Sessions, Learning Labs, or Special Events, in 50- or 60-minute blocks with a 30-minute break in between. These two sessions resume at

  • Eastern: 2:30pm ET
  • Central:  1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:30pm PT

and end each day no later than

  • Eastern: 5pm Eastern
  • Central: 4pm Central
  • Mountain: 3pm Mountain
  • Pacific: 2pm Pacific

 

Week of October 12–16: Tutorials & Workshops Track

Welcome/help desk opens 1 hour before sessions begin

Tutorials begin

  • Eastern: 1:00pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am PT
Break (30 minutes)
  • Eastern: 2:30pm ET
  • Central: 1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:30am PT

Tutorials end

  • Eastern: 4:30pm ET
  • Central: 3:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 2:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 1:30pm PT

Week of October 19–23: Main Conference Track

Welcome/help desk opens 1 hour before sessions begin

Plenaries begin

  • Eastern: 1:00pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am PT
Break (30 minutes)
  • Eastern: 2:00pm ET
  • Central: 1:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:00pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:00am PT
Two additional sessions 
(50 or 60 minutes each),
 starting at 
  • Eastern: 2:30pm ET
  • Central: 1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:30am PT

A 30-minute break is scheduled between the second and third session of each day.

News & Quick Links

 
The conference website on QiqoChat is open! 
If you registered for the conference,
set up your account with
the email you used to register. 
Stop by the Welcome/Help Desk
to check in and get oriented.
 
Confused or having technical problems?

Read our technical FAQs.
Read how your Concurrent Session works.

Silver Sponsors

Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor
New Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor

 

Bronze Sponsors

Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor

New Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor

In-kind Sponsors

Supporting Student Participation
at Gateways 2020
Providing Media Coverage
for Gateways 2020

This conference is brought to you by