Now's your chance to propose a spur-of-the-moment session topic or an informal, shared-interest get-together ahead of time!

“Learning Labs” may be one of several styles of impromptu learning:

  • Pop-up BOFs (Birds-of-a-Feather Sessions): Discuss a topic that you care about or propose a topic that is not covered by pre-scheduled sessions. This is a great way to find the other people at the conference who want to talk about a shared interest. 

  • Mini Hacks: Teach or help others to use specific software, understand development techniques, or tackle other technical topics.

  • Coffee-Break Conversations: Carry on the energy from a post-presentation discussion or elaborate on a topic that comes up in a session.

We will have three, 50–minute periods devoted to your ideas. The time blocks will be:

  • Tuesday, Oct. 20 at 4:00pm Eastern/3:00pm Central/2:00pm Mountain/1:00pm Pacific
  • Wednesday, Oct. 21 at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific
  • Thursday, Oct. 22 at 4:00pm Eastern/3:00pm Central/2:00pm Mountain/1:00pm Pacific

Each day, multiple online meeting rooms (through QiqoChat) will be set up for you to meet with others and discuss the topics of your choice. Here are the ways you can get involved:

Learning Lab at Gateways 2019
  1. Propose a topic that you’d be willing to host. (You don’t have to be an expert, just interested!)

  2. Find a topic that interests you, and join a "room"!

You'll be able to submit your topics from now through the conference until 3pm Eastern on Thursday, October 22 (1 hour before the last Learning Lab time slot). Topics can be added to meeting rooms each day as long as they're submitted here at least an hour in advance of the Learning Lab time slot.

There is no review/selection process, just the willingness to convene a group.

Submit your topic with this Google Form no later than 1 hour before the start of the Learning Lab you wish to host.

We’ll announce the topics in the QiqoChat space and in our Sched program.