The conference is for gateway creators and users who want to connect with and learn from others like them.

We have a terrific schedule planned! (See "The conference at a glance" below for a big-picture overview.)

  • Hear two interactive keynotes by Roger Aines and Amy Aines, authors of Championing Science, and by Thomas Dohmke, VP of Strategic Programs at GitHub, speaking about GitHub's fascinating Archive Program. Plus we have four other engaging plenary sessions (more details coming soon!).

  • Choose from eight hands-on Tutorials and Workshops (week of October 12–16) featuring gateway platforms and tools, gateway security, community building, and a gateway for data at risk.

  • Learn from a wide array of presentations and demos, in sets of three, similarly themed presentations followed by an interactive Q&A. 

  • Mingle or present at the Poster Showcase on Monday, October 19, where you can also learn about our Sponsors' resources and services that may benefit you. Poster submissions are now due Monday, September 28.

  • Enjoy opportunities to connect with like-minded colleagues throughout the conference and during the Learning Labs, where you can propose your own topic to discuss or share! 

Registered and want to personalize your own schedule? Sign up for your own Gateways 2020 Sched account, and you can display the schedule in your own time zone.

Other ways to be part of the Gateways 2020 Program

Posters may be submitted through September 28.

Submission of Learning Lab topics is welcome until 3pm Eastern on Thursday, October 22 (1 hour before the last Learning Lab time slot).

If you would like to receive future communications about the Gateways 2020 conference and other useful news about science gateways, please join the Science Gateways Community Institute newsletter.

Already presenting?

Presenters of papers, demos, tutorials, or workshops are encouraged to visit the Information for Presenters page, which will continue to be updated with advice and technical information, particularly by September.

The conference at a glance

Here's an overview of the schedule, which includes about 3 hours of content each day, plus breaks. For the graphically inclined, a table of the schedule is below.

Tutorials and Workshops Track: Week of October 12-16

Each day from 

  • Eastern: 1:00pm-4:30pm with a break at 2:30pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm-3:30pm with a break at 1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am-2:30pm with a break at 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am-1:30pm with a break at 11:30pm PT

Main Conference Track: Week of October 19-23

Each day begins with a 1-hour plenary session at

  • Eastern: 1:00pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am PT

Plenaries are followed by a 30-minute break: Use this time for stretching, grabbing a bite to eat, networking, browsing posters, or visiting sponsor “booths” — or all of the above! Note that concurrent session presenters may be setting up in your Zoom room during the break. You can easily carry on your conversation in QiqoChat using one of the many Social Spaces. Pick a “Coffee Table” location and hop into a Zoom meeting right there.

The rest of the day is two more sessions, such as Concurrent Sessions, Learning Labs, or Special Events, in 50- or 60-minute blocks with a 30-minute break in between. These two sessions resume at

  • Eastern: 2:30pm ET
  • Central:  1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:30pm PT

and end each day no later than

  • Eastern: 5pm Eastern
  • Central: 4pm Central
  • Mountain: 3pm Mountain
  • Pacific: 2pm Pacific

 

Week of October 12–16: Tutorials & Workshops Track

Welcome/help desk opens 1 hour before sessions begin

Tutorials begin

  • Eastern: 1:00pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am PT
Break (30 minutes)
  • Eastern: 2:30pm ET
  • Central: 1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:30am PT

Tutorials end

  • Eastern: 4:30pm ET
  • Central: 3:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 2:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 1:30pm PT

Week of October 19–23: Main Conference Track

Welcome/help desk opens 1 hour before sessions begin

Plenaries begin

  • Eastern: 1:00pm ET
  • Central: 12:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 11:00am MT
  • Pacific: 10:00am PT
Break (30 minutes)
  • Eastern: 2:00pm ET
  • Central: 1:00pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:00pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:00am PT
Two additional sessions 
(50 or 60 minutes each),
 starting at 
  • Eastern: 2:30pm ET
  • Central: 1:30pm CT
  • Mountain: 12:30pm MT
  • Pacific: 11:30am PT

A 30-minute break is scheduled between the second and third session of each day.

Why attend?

Here are some comments from prior attendees...

"I appreciated the Gateways 2019 conference for the opportunity to finally meet with collaborators face-to-face. Building a science gateway involves partnerships from multiple institutions. Remote collaborations via email and web conferencing are effective, but there is no replacement for working shoulder-to-shoulder with colleagues to identify problems and make quick progress.”
Julien Chastang, Gateways 2019

"The time spent there listening to presentations and talking to people was so valuable for me (and also so much fun!).  I returned with lots of connections and possible interactions — nothing could be more vital for our work.”
Ann Christine Catlin, Gateways 2018

"Attending Gateways 2017 was on the top of my list for this year and the event was even better than I envisioned. It was great to see a welcoming community of like-minded people to learn about interesting projects, share thoughts, and make plans for the future. The organization of the event was one of the best I've ever attended.”
Enis Afgan,
Gateways 2017

 

Silver Sponsors

Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor

 

Bronze Sponsors

Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor
Sustaining Sponsor

In-kind Sponsor

Providing Media Coverage for Gateways 2020

This conference is brought to you by