Gateways 2020

Tutorials: Week of October 12
Main Presentations: Week of October 19
Location: From the comfort of your home

We're going online!

With your health and safety in mind, we are moving Gateways 2020 to an online format. We are re-imagining this community gathering, focusing on what matters most to you—learning and connection. 

We want you to have an outstanding—but not exhausting—conference experience. During the week of October 19, we will offer a series of online events, including plenaries, parallel sessions, and Learning Labs—with a schedule friendly to all US time zones and those balancing work and caregiving. We will move tutorials to the week prior to our original dates (October 12–16), following a similar schedule.

The registration fee will be substantially reduced, and financial support for registration will be available to any attendees whose travel funds have been frozen.

If you have a question, email us at help@sciencegateways.org.

About the Conference Series

Hyatt Regency Bethesda at nightThis gathering for gateway creators and enthusiasts features hands-on tutorials, demos, keynotes, presentations, panels, posters, and plenty of opportunities to connect with colleagues. We invite you to join us! Gateway developers and users—regardless of their domain area—have a lot in common but have had few venues for exchanging experiences. The fifth Gateways annual conference is an opportunity for gateway creators and enthusiasts to learn, share, connect, and shape the future of gateways as part of a vibrant community with common interests.

Science gateways allow academic research or education communities to access shared data, software, computing services, instruments, educational materials, and other resources specific to their disciplines. They are typically a web portal or a suite of desktop applications.

 

The big picture in words and tables

Tutorials and Workshops Track: Week of October 12-16

Each day from 

  • 1:00pm-4:30pm with a break at 2:30pm Eastern
  • 12:00pm-3:30pm with a break at 1:30pm Central
  • 11:00am-2:30pm with a break at 12:30pm Mountain
  • 10:00am-1:30pm with a break at 11:30pm Pacific

Main Conference Track: Week of October 19-23

Each day begins with a 1-hour plenary session at

  • 1:00pm Eastern
  • 12:00pm Central
  • 11:00am Mountain
  • 10:00am Pacific

Plenaries are followed by a 30-minute break: Use this time for stretching, grabbing a bite to eat, networking, browsing posters, or visiting sponsor “booths” — or all of the above! Note that concurrent session presenters may be setting up in your Zoom room during the break. You can easily carry on your conversation in QiqoChat using one of the many Social Spaces. Pick a “Coffee Table” location and hop into a Zoom meeting right there.

The rest of the day is a mix of Concurrent Sessions, Learning Labs, or Special Events in two 50- or 60-minute blocks with a 30-minute break in between. These sessions resume at

  • 2:30pm Eastern
  • 1:30pm Central
  • 12:30pm Mountain
  • 11:30pm Pacific

and end each day no later than

  • 5pm Eastern
  • 4pm Central
  • 3pm Mountain
  • 2pm Pacific

 

Week of October 12–16: Tutorials & Workshops Track

Registration/help desk opens 2 hours before sessions begin

Tutorials begin

  • 1:00pm Eastern
  • 12:00pm Central
  • 11:00am Mountain
  • 10:00am Pacific
Break (30 minutes)
  • 2:30pm Eastern
  • 1:30pm Central
  • 12:30pm Mountain
  • 11:30pm Pacific

Tutorials end

  • 4:30pm Eastern
  • 3:30pm Central
  • 2:30pm Mountain
  • 1:30pm Pacific

Week of October 19–23: Main Conference Track

Registration/help desk opens 2 hours before sessions begin

Plenaries begin

  • 1:00pm Eastern
  • 12:00pm Central
  • 11:00am Mountain
  • 10:00am Pacific
Break (30 minutes)
  • 2:00pm Eastern
  • 1:00pm Central
  • 12:00pm Mountain
  • 11:00pm Pacific
Two additional sessions (50 or 60 minutes each), starting at 
  • 2:30pm Eastern
  • 1:30pm Central
  • 12:30pm Mountain
  • 11:30pm Pacific

A 30-minute break is scheduled between the second and third sessions of each day.

News & Quick Links

All are invited to submit a poster!

Poster abstracts are due Friday, September 11, 2020.
 

Registration opens in mid-August.
 

We are in need of volunteer reviewers for the 
Cloudify Gateways 2020 solicitation.
If you would like to review, please email
Claire Stirm at 
cstirm@ucsd.edu.

 

This conference is brought to you by