2019 Coding Institute

Participants

Walter Asbell
Walter Asbell

Elizabeth City
State University
LinkedIn
Kevin Benton
Kevin Benton

Elizabeth City
State University
LinkedIn
Tangee Beverly
Tangee Beverly

Elizabeth City
State University
LinkedIn
Pablo Calix
Pablo Calix
College of Lake County LinkedIn
Derek Morris Jr
Derek Morris Jr

Elizabeth City
State University
LinkedIn
Edsel Norwood
Edsel Norwood

Elizabeth City
State University
LinkedIn
Josselyn Salgado
Josselyn Salgado

College of Lake County
LinkedIn
John Senegal
John Senegal

Elizabeth City
State University
LinkedIn

Training

During the Coding Institute students took part in training on various coding languages and Gateway topics including:

  • GitHub
  • Jupyter
  • Unix Shell
  • Python
  • Gateway Architecture
  • Responsible Conduct of Research
Trainers for these sessions are shown below.
Marlon Pierce
Marlon Pierce

Indiana University
George Cox
George Cox

Elizabeth City
State University
Derek Morris
Derek Morris

Elizabeth City
State University

2019 Four-Week Coding Institute by SGCI
Date 8:30-Noon 1:30 - 4:30 pm 6:00 - 8:00 pm

NOTES

Logistics Programming Languages
Mon, Jun 3   Opening Session Lane Hall Submit SC and PEARC applications Arrive ECSU
Tue, Jun 4 Tech Talk-Macintosh Poster Design / LinkedIn    
Wed, Jun 5 Responsible Conduct of Research GLOBE Mission Mosquito webinar  
Thu, Jun 6 Python Intro Python Intro Python lab  
Fri, Jun 7 Python Intro Python Intro Python lab Announcements
Sat, Jun 8 Open Lab Jupyter Notebooks Jupyter lab  
Sun, Jun 9   Open Lab Jupyter Notebooks - Project Req.  
System Administration
Mon, Jun 10 UNIX Shell UNIX Shell UNIX lab  
Tue, Jun 11 UNIX Shell UNIX Shell UNIX lab Payday
Wed, Jun 12 Professional Statement / Resume SGCI webinar Jupyter Notebook lab Webinar Topic: Using Google Analytics
Thu, Jun 13 Travel to Portsmouth/Norfolk Waterfront MacArthur Mall Sunset Thursday Music by Strictly Bizzness
Fri, Jun 14 GitHub GitHub GitHub lab NAM Computational Science
Sat, Jun 15 Open Lab Jupyter Notebooks Jupyter lab  
Sun, Jun 16   Open Lab Jupyter Notebooks  
Introduction to Science Gateways - Marlon Pierce in charge
Mon, Jun 17 Intro to Gateway Architecture Brainstorming your Gateway project Mockups: HTML, CSS, etc Basic science gateway concepts
Tue, Jun 18 Using Cloud Resources OpenStack API to interface with OpenStack VMs Gateway Lab Learning to use hosted resources
Wed, Jun 19 REST Architecture REST Lab Build out your napkin drawings Learn basic security concepts for running VMs
Thu, Jun 20 Basic Cloud Security Security Lab Build out your napkin drawings Learn and apply REST
Fri, Jun 21   Open Source Practices Lab Build out your napkin drawings Learn basics of open source project governance
Sat, Jun 22 Open Lab Jupyter Notebooks  11am start Jupyter Notebooks  
Sun, Jun 23   Open Lab Brainstorming version 2 projects  
Gateway Project:   Suresh Marru and Jerome Mitchell in charge
Mon, Jun 24 Virginia Beach Field Trip  
Tue, Jun 25 Authentication and Authorization: OIDC and OAuth2 Continuous Integration and Deployment OIDC Lab Build out your napkin drawing NAM Computational Science Seminar-v  TBA
Wed, Jun 26 Continuous Integration and Deployment CI/CD Lab with Apache Jenkins Build out your napkin drawing Reproducible systems.  Pull from GitHub and deploy on a VM.
Thu, Jun 27 Final Demos and Presentations Closing Dinner  
Fri, Jun 28 Checkout, Final Stipend, Depart for Airport Payday

SGCI Coding Institute Partner: Digital Science Center: Here&There Program
Supported by National Science Foundation through Awards
   1443054 :: CIF21 DIBBs: Middleware and High Performance Analytics Libraries for Scalable Data Science
   1720625 :: Network for Computational Nanotechnology - Engineered nanoBIO Node

Coding Institute Training 2019
Coding Institute Training 2019
Coding Institute Training 2019
Coding Institute Training 2019