Young Professional of the Year

The SGCI Young Professional of the Year award acknowledges young professionals for notable achievement in the advancement of science gateways. YP of the Year applicants (or those being nominated for YP of the Year) must be either an enrolled student or a professional under the age of 40. Individuals from all disciplinary areas are welcome to apply. 

Selected YP of the Year individuals will receive an honorarium of $500 and a certificate. YP of the Year recipients will be announced at the annual Gateways conference, and applicants are encouraged to attend. You will be asked to submit a travel support request form at a later date. 

If you are chosen to represent SGCI as “Young Professional of the Year,” you will be designated as a representative and may be asked to participate in a variety of outreach or community events. These may include, but are not limited to, an email and/or online Q & A discussion forum or participation virtually/on-site at an SGCI webinar. 

We also recommend that you notify your employer’s Public Relations contact before you apply to ensure that you follow any company policies or guidelines on external programs. If selected, you will also be required to provide a photo, photo release form, and contact information for your employer or university Public Relations department. 

The YP of the Year application for 2021 has closed. To stay updated on future opportunities, please sign up for our newsletter

2020 Awardees (recognized at the Gateways 2020 conference)

Nicole Brewer
Software Engineer, Purdue University
Scientific Solutions Group
Women in HPC Co-Chair
Research Computing
BS Mathematics with Computer Science

Juan Martínez Ramírez
Texas Advanced Computing Center
Java Web developer
Web and Mobile Applications group (WMA)
MS in Computer Science
BS in Computer Engineering

La’Andrea Gates
Masters student, Mississippi State University
SGCI Graduate Research Assistant, ECSU
MS in Computer Science (anticipated)
BS in Computer Science

Yuexi Chen
Ph.D. student, Computer Science
The University of Maryland, College Park (UMD)
SGCI Graduate Research Assistant, ECSU
MS in Computer Science (anticipated)
BS in Computer Science

2019 Awardees (recognized at the Gateways 2019 conference)

Young Professionals 2019
(L to R) Linda Hayden, Edsell Norwood, Choonhan Youn, Jared McLean, Sean Cleveland, Maytal Dahan
Choonhan Youn
EDS Consultant, SSC Staff
Extended Developer Support and Scientific Software Collaborative
San Diego Supercomputer Center, UCSD
PhD Computer Science
MS Computer Engineering
BS Computer Engineering


Jared McLean
Graduate Student, UH Mānoa
Hawaiʻi EPSCoR ʻIke Wai project
MS Computer Science
BS Computer Science

Edsel Norwood
Graduate Student, ECSU
SGCI Programming Language Educator
MS Applied Mathematics
BS Computer Science
AS Computer Programming


2018 Awardees (recognized at the Gateways 2018 conference)

Je’aime H. Powell
Senior Systems Administrator, Curriculum Specialist, Lecturer
Texas Advanced Computing Center,  University of Texas at Austin 
PhD Student
MS Applied Mathematics with a concentration in Remote Sensing
BS Computer Science with a minor in Aviation

Sean B. Cleveland
Cyberinfrastructure Research Scientist
University of Hawaii
PhD Microbiology with a concentration in Bioinformatics
BS Computer Science

Carrie Arnold
Software Engineer, Web and Mobile Applications
Texas Advanced Computing Center University of Texas at Austin
MS Computer Science
BM Music Engineering Technology, Saxophone Minors: Computer Science, Applied Physics (Electronics)

Jaewoo Shin
Graduate Professional, PhD Student
Research Computing /Computer Science, 
Purdue University 
BS Computer Science
BS Information and Computer Engineering

Mona Wong
Software Engineer at San Diego Supercomputer Center
BS Computer Science


2017 Awardees (recognized at the Gateways 2017 conference)

2017 Young Professional of the Year Awards
Hector H. Corzo
BS Chemical Physics
Computational Chemistry PhD Candidate at Auburn University 
Science Gateways Computational Chemistry Workshop
Chemical Computing Group Excellence Award
Rajesh Kalyanam
Software Engineer in Research Computing, Purdue University
PhD in Computer Engineering, Purdue University
Purdue Satellite Data Portal
Geospatial Data for Agricultural Economists
Cybersecurity Education Platform
Joseph T. Yun
BS Computer Science
MS Advertising
PhD Candidate in Informatics (ABD)
Leader, Social Media Analytics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Social Media Macroscope Project