Registration is now open for Gateways 2022! Reserve your seat at before Sept. 16th to receive the early bird registration discount. close

13th IEEE International Conference on eScience — CFP Deadline Extended

The 13th IEEE International Conference on eScience will be held October 24-27, 2017 in Auckland, New Zealand. The objective of the eScience Conference is to promote and encourage all aspects of eScience and its associated technologies, applications, and tools.

The way in which research is carried out is undergoing a series of radical changes as a result of the digital revolution. Researchers in all disciplines are increasingly adopting digital tools, techniques, and practices in communities and projects that span multiple disciplines, laboratories, organizations, and national boundaries. eScience 2017 brings together leading international and interdisciplinary research communities, developers, and users of eScience applications and enabling IT technologies. The conference serves as the premier forum to present the results of the latest research and product/tool developments and to highlight related activities from around the world.

The conference will be structured around the following eScience themes:

• Arts, Humanities and Social Science
• Bioinformatics and Health
• Physical Sciences and Engineering
• Climate, Environmental and Earth Sciences
• Data Science, Digital Repositories, Data Management and Big Data
• Research Software Engineering and Computational Science
• Cyberinfrastructure to support eScience, including novel hardware, software and services
• eScience in the cloud
• Education, training and eScience practice

In addition to this call for papers, there are a number of ways to participate in eScience 2017: please see the eScience 2017 website ( for further information.

Submissions are due June 23, 2017. Read more about the Call for Papers here.

Notification of acceptance will be sent by July 21, 2017.
Authors are invited to submit unpublished, original work, using the IEEE 8.5 × 11 manuscript guidelines: double-column text using single-spaced 10 point font on 8.5 × 11 inch pages. Templates are available from

The conference proceedings will be made available online through the IEEE Digital Library.

Three types of papers will be accepted:

  • Full research papers (up to 10 pages): focus on new research achievements in eScience, spanning core technologies and applications.
  • Experience papers (up to 10 pages): focus on practical outcomes through applying eScience tools and techniques to novel problems.
  • Posters (up to 2 pages): focus on early stage results for presentation in a poster session, giving presenters a chance to showcase their latest results and innovations.

Authors should submit a PDF to Submissions will be fully peer-reviewed. It is a requirement that at least one author of each accepted paper attends the conference.

General Chairs: Nick Jones: New Zealand eScience Infrastructure, Mik Black: University of Otago PC Chairs: David Abramson: University of Queensland, Gillian Dobbie: University of Auckland, David Eyers: University of Otago